>This Day Does Not Exist

>MONDAY MARCH 19, 2007

This day does not exist – yet I get paid for it!
It’s true, I will never live this day – we crossed the international date line and for that reason we just skipped Monday.

It brings to mind a funny story about the time the ship crossed the date line going east – they lived the same day twice, and those of us who get paid by the day didn’t get paid extra for it! “Looks like somebody’s got a case of the Mondays”

Even funnier was that the 19th was a crew member’s birthday! Poor guy.

As simple as it seems, I am still trying to wrap my head around it..

Honolulu was beautiful. I will put up pictures sometime this week.

This entry was posted in Ship Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >This Day Does Not Exist

  1. Ginnie says:

    >It’s like losing or gaining one hour twice a year except it’s TWENTY-FOUR hours! Man. That really IS weird. Poor guys who are born on February 29th, too!

  2. >That happened to me when I flew to New Zealand… I left on the 17th and arrived on the 19th, but luckily they gave me the time back on the return journey.

Leave a Reply

