>Misty Buddhas and the Wisdom Path

>Hong Kong at 5 am was a welcome sight to those hardy crew members who woke up (stayed awake?) for it. In our 15 sea days I was still in one piece except for one very annoying eye twitch.

Hong Kong seems wonderful, and bizarre, and very cosmopolitan. In some aspects it is like one huge shopping mall. Our ship is docked at a shopping mall. No kidding, we are docked in the Maternity and Children’s Accessories section. You enter the mall to board the ship, and take the elevator by the Toys R Us. The Toys R Us was cool – I spotted an ant farm I wanted to buy. I could have a pet! But I have read the book about Matilda and the Ant. I know how this one ends already.
The shopping mall we are docked at must be a whole kilometer long. Again, not kidding.

However, I will save the pictures of the real Hong Kong for another day.

Today, since I had the time and the ambition, I took a the one and a half hour trip to the Po Lin Monastery via ferry, ferry, then bus. It is the home of one of the worlds largest outdoor sitting Buddhas.

More recently, a monk carved prayers from the Heart Sutra onto wooden pillars. These pillars are placed on the mountainside in the shape of the infinity symbol. It is called the Wisdom Path. I walked the tea-scented trail.

It was like a Buddhist Stonhenge. The locals were wandering through, reading the prayers to themselves. “Ah! Blah blah blah! Ah!! I wished I also knew what the pillars said.

One pillar was left blank to symbolize emptiness.

I walked the path back towards the Monastery and the Buddha. Can you see him in the distance?

A Monk ( the only one I saw) washes some Bamboo

If you buy a Vegetarian meal you get to walk to the very top of the Buddha. The vegetarian meal was half the reason I came up there! It consisted of a gelatinous soup with seaweed and fungus, and more seaweed and fungus mixed with vegetables. A bit slimy but good. I counted a couple of different seaweeds and at least 7 different fungus. It was yummy.

And now on to Buddha himself. When I got there and first saw the Buddha, I thought “hey, cool, they put a smoke machine behind Buddha for effect!”

It was really just misty and beautiful.

This entry was posted in Asia, China. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >Misty Buddhas and the Wisdom Path

  1. Ginnie says:

    >OMG, Stacey. That is a walk of a lifetime! Fabulous pics! And your text, as always, is so mezmerizing for me. I am just eating this all up–your entire cruise(s).That soup reminds me of my favorite Chinese soup: hot and sour!

  2. >MMMM Hot and Sour…. my fave!I’m enjoying my tour of the interesting places in Hong Kong, I can’t wait to see where we are going tomorrow!Great pics, what a huge Bhudda.

  3. tatiana says:

    >I love hot and sour soup! Those little black bits in there are not seaweekd or fungus. they are sea cucumber! I’ll spare you the details since they taste so good!Your photos are amazing.. I would give anything to have gone to this monastery. Simply gorgeous. Of all the people I know who have visited China, all their photos have that mysterious misty quality about them. I love that.Can’t wait to see the rest of the photos!

Leave a Reply

