>Cabin, Backwaters, Dirty Laundry and Underwater Buddhas

>There is a lot of stuff in my cabin. The cabin is tiny – maybe 4 meters by 2 1/2. And none of the stuff is mine. My roommate, a wonderful girl, has a ton of stuff. Sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in my own cabin. The stuff does bug me. Sometimes I put something down only to have it swallowed up by the cabin and I can’t find it again amongst all the stuff. I sit there and stress about out stuff intermingling, and play game where I mentally circle my stuff.

Here it is – our cabin. I have circled all my stuff in pink. It makes me feel better. You can enlarge the pic by clicking on it. Is it my imagination, or does she really have a lot of stuff?
(The huge red heart that says “We love you Stacey” is MINE!)

This is the kind of thing I do on a day at sea. There is nothing else to do.
I put a new bell on my fold-up bike. That was exciting. Here is a picture of the broken old bell.

There is a crew tour tomorrow in Cochin, India. “The Backwaters of Cochin.” It sounds kindof unappealing, and I am sure there will be a lot of great photo ops.

They closed the laundries on us a couple days ago. There is nowhere to get fresh water ashore, so the ship has been making its own water. They are trying to conserve this water so they won’t let us wash our clothes. Finally they decided to open the laundry, and at that point something in the main laundry broke and now they are using the crew laundry machines to wash all the guest linens. Now that is something amazing.
Everyone is running out of different items. I am picking gym clothes out of my dirty laundry pile. Some guys are out of socks, and some are out of tee shirts. Luckily I have a lot of clothes to wear still.

This is the most kitschy thing I have ever seen. $7 at the Shewedagon Pagoda, someone has taped Buddha images over one of those revolving fish tank lights. It’s like the Buddhas are underwater.

I just noticed this image in a picture I took in Honolulu. Do you see the bird flying through the fence? I don’t remember noticing this before, but I think it is beautiful.

This entry was posted in Asia, Ship Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Cabin, Backwaters, Dirty Laundry and Underwater Buddhas

  1. tatiana says:

    >I do love this picture….. There is nothing more gorgeous that the colors of the sky at sunset…. have fun in the backwaters!

  2. >she’s definitely got a lot of stuff there! That is crazy about the washers breaking…And the last pic is incredible. I keep thinking about you and how I’d rather be over there doing something than here.. I miss traveling so much!

  3. Ginnie says:

    >Will you get to have you own cabin as head bandleader, Stacey? Hmmm. This roommate’s unorganized stuff would bother the c*** outta me. Any way to have more “equity” with the space?

  4. Kate says:

    >I have come across your blog and LOVE it. That photo is just amazing and yes, your cabin mate DOES have a lot of stuff! Wow about the laundry too. You have seen so many wonderful places thanks for sharing.k8

Leave a Reply

