>A Good Day for Blogging

>
I have been neglecting my computer lately. There’s been little time for blogging, what with the new job, and a couple of wild parties thrown in. I have had various strange new tasks to do, such as writing a list of all songs played within one day. It’s for some kind of licencing thing. Most songs are owned by people, and they should see a bit of money each time they are played. This was quite a procedure, so I will put the fruits of my labor here:

A Day In The Life Of A Fool
A Fine Romance
A Foggy Day
A Grand Love Theme
A Man And A Woman
After You, Who?
Aint No Sunshine
Alfie
All I Ask Of You
All The Way
Alone
Always
Always On My Mind
Anak
Annanas
Another Story About Paris
Any Dream Will Do
As Time Goes By
Autmn In New York
Autumn Leaves
Autumn Leaves
Bad Girls
Bailamos
Bandy Bandy
Baracolle
Bewitched
Blister In The Sun
Blue Rondo A La Turk
Brasil
Brick House
Brown Eyed Girl
Brown Eyed Girl
Build Me Up Buttercup
Bust A Move
But Beautiful
Calendar Girl
Call Me Irresponsible
Celebration
Charade
Cheek To Cheek
Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White
Chimchimney
Circle Of Life
Close To You
Come Fly With Me
Come In From The Rain
Corazon De Melon
Crazy Little Thing Called Love
Czardas
Dancing In The Dark
Dancing Queen
Dancing Queen
Dancing With Myself
Danger Zone
Day By Day
Days Of Wine And Roses
Deed I Do
Deep Purple
Destination
Diamonds Are Forever
Do What You Want
Do You Love Me
Do You Wanna Dance
Dock Of The Bay
Domino
Don’t Blame Me
Don’t Go To Strangers
Don’t Stop Till You Got Enough
Down In Brazil
Dr. Zhivago
Dulcinea
East of the Sun
Ebb Tide
Edelweiss
Electric Boogie
End Of The World
Evergreen
Every Breath You Take
Everybody, Everybody
Eye Of The Tiger
Fame
Fascination
Flashdance
Flordeluna
Fly Me To The Moon
Footloose
For All We Know
From Russia With Love
Funky Stuff
Funkytown
Georgia
Getting Jiggy With It
Giant Steps
Gigi
Girl From Ipanema
Girl From Ipanema
Give It Up
Goldfinger
Gone With The Wind
Gonna Make You Sweat
Green Eyes
Groove Is In The Heart
Guantanamerra
Happiness is a Thing Called Joe
Harbor Lights
Hawaiian Wedding Song
Hello Dolly
Here’s That Rainy Day
Hernandos Hideaway
Hey Baby
Historia De Un Amor
Holographic Universe
How Insensative
I Get Along Without You Very Well
I Got The Sun In The Morning
I Need To Know
I Only Have Eyes For You
I Travel
I Understand
I Wanna Be Sedated
I Want It Back
I Will Survive
I Wish I Knew
I’m a Fool To Want You
If He Walked Into My Life
If I Loved You
If I Loved You
If You Are But A Dream
If You Leave Me Now
I’m Old Fashioned
In The Rain
Isn’t It Romantic
Isn’t This A Lovely Day
It Had To Be You
It Takes Two
It’s Only A Paper Moon
Its Raining Men
I’ve Had The Time Of My Life
James Bond Theme
Jeepers Creepers
Jolly Holiday
Jumpin At The Woodside
Jungle Love
Just In Time
Just One Of Those Things
Kansas City
Kingston Town
Kissing
La Cumparcita
La Isla Bonita
La Paloma
La Paloma
La Vie En Rose
Lady In Red
Lara’s Theme
Last Chance
Latin Leisure
Laura
Lay Down Sally
Let Me Love You
Little Girl Blue
Live And Let Die
Locomotion
Losing My Mind
Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
Love Is A Many-Splendored Thing
Love Shack
Lucille
Macarena
Macho Man
Magic Man
Make Believe
Make Believe
Make Believe
Malaguena
Manhattan
Mas Que Nada
May It Be
Meditation
Meditation
Merry Widow Waltz
Moments Notice
Moon River
Moon River
Moonglow
More
Music Is My First Love
Music Of The Night
Mustang Sally
My Foolish Heart
My Funny Valentine
My Heart Will Go On
My Little Star
My Romance
Nature Boy
Nature Boy
Never On A Sunday
New Sun In The Sky
Night And Day
Night And Day
Not So Much
Now And Forever
Oh What A Night
Old Devil Moon
On The Road Again
One (Is The Lonliest Number)
One For My Baby
Over The Waves
Perhaps Love
Pink Panther Theme
Poor Butterfly
Quisas, Quisas, Quisas
Rappers Delight
Red Red Wine
Revival
Roman Guitar
S Wonderful
Satin Doll
Satin Doll
Satisfaction
Schindlers List
Scotch And Soda
Send In The Clowns
Sentimental
She Will Be Loved
Siboney
Skylark
Skyline Pigeon
So In Love
Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
Solamente Una Ves
Someday My Prince Will Come
Somewhere Out tThere
Sooner or Later
Soul Limbo
Spiderman
Star Wars
Stardust
Staying Alive
Stella By Starlight
Stiff Jazz
Stompin At The Savoy
Stuck On You
Sukiyaki
Summer Elements
Supastar
Supercalifragilistic
Superfreak
Superman
Sway
Swedish Rhapsody
Sweet Caroline
Take Five
Take It Easy
Take My Breath Away
Taking A Chance On Love
Tea For Two
Tea For Two
Tenderly
Tequila
Thanks For The Memory
That’s All
That’s For Me
That’s The Way I Like It
The Coffee Song
The Continental
The Days Of Wine And Roses
The Godfather
The Man That Got Away
The Nearness Of You
The Twist
The Way You Look Tonight
The Way You Look Tonight
They Say It’s Wonderful
Third Man Theme
This Is How We Do It
Those Were The Days
Three Times A Lady
Till There Was You
Till There Was You
Time On My Hands
Today
Tomorrow
Too Marvelous For Words
True Love
Twilight And Shadow
Una Paloma Blanca
Under The Sea
Vienna City Of My Dreams
Walk Right Back
Watermelon Man
Wave
Wave
What’ll I Do?
When I Fall In Love
When Sunny Gets Blue
When You Wish Upon A Star
Where Is Your Heart?
Witchcraft
Wonderful World
You Are So Beautiful
You Go To My Head
You Made Me Love You
You Make Me Feel So Young
You Raise Me Up
Young And Foolish
Younger Then Springtime
Zip A Dee Doo Dah

Darn, I just realised a bunch of songs are listed twice. That’s because two different bands have played them, and I forgot to double check for repeats. Some of the cheesier songs are from the Production Show, and some of the strange ones were probably played in the Disco.

Now, I have been neglecting my fantastical travel stories, so here is a true one about a bike ride in France.

We were docked on the Atlantic side of France, close to Bordeaux. We were docked in the middle of nowhere because it is closer to the actual vineyards, where the Guests go on wine tours. The town of Bordeaux was a couple of hours away by bus. We have docked right in Bordeaux before – If you want to read about my vineyard tour last year you can click here.

We were docked close to the little town of Le Verdon, which I had been to 2 years ago. It is very tiny and a short bike ride away. I decided to get my bike and go on a picnic.

Correction – I rented one of the crew bikes this time because they are waaay faster.

First I stopped in the little town of Le Verdon.

I bought an Iced Tea and Goat Cheese and a Baguette. There was a little tourist info station open and I asked where I could go on a picnic with my bike. (Yay for mandatory French class!)


Notice the can of Ice Tea says just that. Why is Canada the only country to literally translate the label into french? You can see that even in France the label is in english. Some argue that the word “Iced Tea” to Quebeccers sounds a little close to the swear word “Asti,” a kind of Catholic blasphemy which I probably can’t spell. I have been all over the world, and the Nestle Iced Tea has always said just that.

It must be an EU thing, but the Stop signs say “Stop.” So really, is Canada the only country with stop signs saying “Arret?”

On that note, the word “Parking” is also in English. I have seen it written “Stationment de Voitures” at home (sorry about the spelling) and am wondering if the language laws are being taken to a Canadian extreme.

I don’t mean to piss off my fellow French Canadians – I know there’s certain measures you have to take to protect your cultural identity.

I learned there was a series of bike trails through a forest, and the forest had picnic areas. The forest was beautiful. I rode along the bike path that was beside a train track. I rode all the way to Soulac Sur Mer, the seaside village where the shuttle bus from the ship was taking guests and crew. I was pretty proud of myself when I showed up with my bike, because apparently the bus ride was 20 minutes long and people were impressed. But it really wasn’t that far by bike.

The forest reminded me of being home.


I had a picnic on a park bench. It was lovely.

They still have the glass things on the hydro poles, just like the old-fashioned ones my Mum collects.


The town was cute, and I sat on the beach for awhile.

The seaside was very sandy. The sand dunes seemed to stretch for ever, even the forest floor was quite sandy. I wonder if this creates the nice soil for grape vines.

They had some nice looking orange tarts at the bakery

And I saw some interesting houses

Well that’s about it! I had a great day, and arrived home rather sunburnt.

This entry was posted in France, Ship Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >A Good Day for Blogging

  1. Ginnie says:

    >Ohhhhh. What a splendid way to spend your day, Stacey. I love that you wrote about it here!

  2. >I love it also! And yes I think Canada is the only place to have french in the signs. Mostly in Europe you see more signs with photos/pictures… No words, too many languages…

Leave a Reply

