>Packed Like Sardines

>
(My Porthole, 2a.m.)

They are offering an incentive for the crew to sleep with each other – Yes, if you share your room with another crew member you get $300. This is a normal incentive, and happens often in the busy season. If you have your own cabin, you can put someone on the floor, or in your bed, or if you have a double cabin and you can stuff three people in, even better. It seems like a lot of money, but it’s nothing compared to the 5,000 + revenue they could get from a stateroom. Then they relocate all the high-end crew members who usually get staterooms into high-end crew cabins, and everyone is happy and cosy and richer. There are just not enough rooms to go around sometimes.

No way would I let anyone share my palace for a mere $300. Without the magic curtain and two beds, I can’t imagine sharing my castle with another girl, friend or not. Maybe next cruise when I am more settled into my job.

(And I imagine you all shouting “take the money!”)

Well here she is folks, the Russian Rhapsody. I could have sworn they’ve used that name before! I am writing from Stockholm today, and as I catch up with my blogging you will hear a lot more about Scandinavia in the weeks to come.

This entry was posted in Maps, Ship Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >Packed Like Sardines

  1. >Now that you have your own empire, I don’t blame you at all for not wanting to share, and $300 doesn’t seem very much…. now if it was $300/day then I might consider it!PS todays word verification is JYOST…. sounds like a Scandinavian word, ya?

  2. Goofball says:

    >How long does this trip take? 300 euro for a trip? …no if I could miss the money I’d go for my own bit of space! That can be important.

  3. Ginnie says:

    >I’m definitely with you on this one, Stacey. Sometimes your own space (especially on a ship) is worth more than all the money in the world. Well, maybe half of it.

  4. >I’m in heaven with your 2am photo! Another thing I want to see again. I saw those colors in 2005 when P and I went to Switzerland… Just incredible!

Leave a Reply

