>Estonia is Awesome

>It really, really, is.
Of course, despite the extreme nationalism of the people and how the government has been treating their Russians who were born there.
I guess that deserves some explanation.
When the Soviet Union fell apart all these countries (i.e. Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia) regained their Independence. During the time of the USSR many Russians moved to these places for jobs, settled and had families. These people and their children went to Russian schools, lived in Russian ghettos, and lived a life purely Russian. When the Soviet Union collapsed the Russians born in these countries were now stuck there with possibly little knowledge of the native tongue, given a passport that says ALIEN and were discriminated against for employment, especially is they could hear your Russian accent. So are they citizens of nowhere?

Of course I have nothing to say on the matter because I have no idea how the USSR treated these countries or oppressed the people at that time. Maybe for them it is just payback time, and the extreme nationalism is a direct result of having no right to a cultural identity for years.

Feel free to correct me on these facts if you know more about it than I do. It is just what I’ve heard from various Russians working onboard.

Estonia is due to join the EU soon and I wonder if this will change their situation.

Tallinn is a Medieval town and the old city is almost like a fairytale.



They play up this Medieval motif, and you will see wenches in costume, selling roasted nuts.

Or you can eat at a Medieval restaurant. Honey Mead, and whatever those Medievals eat.
I ordered a salad last year, and it was mostly meat. That’s what I get for ordering a Medieval salad.

You can click on this picture to see up close the Medieval Menu.


I enjoyed my free WiFi from the town, and sat in this very affordable Pelmeni cafe.

Pelmeni is a Russian perogi, half the size, and often filled with meat or soft cheese. I have heard a lot about this food and haven’t had much of a chance to try it (except from a great kiosk in Juneau, Alaska which I would frequent as much as possible)

In case you are ever in Tallinn, here is the place’s address

EAT CAFE
Sauna 2, Tallinn

It is one of the few very affordable places to eat. For example, my bowl of Pelmeni plus a glass of Kefir was under 2 euro. And you can’t beat the free wifi.

This entry was posted in Estonia. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to >Estonia is Awesome

  1. Anonymous says:

    >A bit of misinformation, Estonia has been a member of EU , from 2004.Now coming from an Estonian this may be for some unacceptable but Russians aren´t treated so badly as some suggest. The Russian media is not free anymore an cant be trusted to give all the facts.About the extreme nationalism, it´s a part of small nations. There are only a little more then a million Estonians and to safeguard our culture and language we cant allow our citizens to not know Estonian on a basic level.Now about how we were treated by the USSR. There is a lot of text about it, I believe and with good proof that the USSR was the most evil regime that has ever existed.But this post is already too long so if someone wants to know more I can continue but for nowGood bye

  2. kaarel says:

    >about the working discrimination part.I’m an ethnic Estonian and I couldn’t work as a German teacher, because I don’t speak any German. But I can do any job where my current language skills suffice. I don’t feel discriminated. Estonia actually has shortage of laobur force, so you can imagine that no businessman with his or her right mind wouldn’t send away a good worker, citizen or not, be it Estonian, Russian or Finnish person.

  3. kaarel says:

    >as for being stuck in a foreign country whose language you don’t speak. well, even if you didn’t mind learning the language when you moved to the land, 17 years should be enough to master a language. For most local Russians, it has luckily been the case. Our ambassador in Russia is an ethnic Russian herself, she learned Estonian language already in 70-s, ie during the occupation. You should ask your Russian friends if there are any reasons for their linguistic disabilities – I mean, apart from the feeling of superioriy towards the Estonians.

  4. dima says:

    >hey duck, when you gonna vist my country? I can show you nice place for varenyki – like perogi!

  5. >Wow, Kaarel and Anonymous, thanks for such a fast resopnse to all my questions and my pretty naieve speculation. I have always wondered but, you know, afraid to ask. It has always been an interesting situation to me but not one exactly to ask about in the bar. And yes, it was a pretty evil regime, as regimes tend to go.Thank-you so much for stopping by, and I would love to hear anything else you have to say about it!…. and I had no idea so many Estonians read this blog!!

  6. >”wenches in costume, selling roasted nuts”…something about that image make me laugh:+)

  7. Goofball says:

    >Well, Estonia is little known to me, but your pictures look awesome!

  8. zhenya says:

    >ohh stacy dima is right we making very delishos pelmenis (which is like dumpkings like chinese mm) and varenykis. my granny in the village is good cook. do you wat to visit and we can go on date? your big ship can sale up the dniepr and i can pik you up in my lada.

  9. tatiana says:

    >I see you have disabled comments on the post above, Requiem for a Friend. I am sad for your loss, and applaud the lovely tribute you’ve created for him. How sad that he was so young. . . .

  10. Ginnie says:

    >I also was gonna mention that comments are not enabled on your above post. I’m guessing that’s not intentional, but something that happens to me from time to time without my doing a thing to change anything. My daughter then ends up telling me.Anyway, as you know, Stacey, I think Tallinn is one of the most incredible cities in the world. I’d go back there in a NY minute. Thanks for the memories.

  11. >Haha you took one of the torture pamphlets. I was in Tallinn on Sunday 22nd July, and declined them every time. I probably walked past you in the main square there, somewhere near the peanut wenches. Far more interesting were the “Ask Me For a Postcard” girls in tight red t-shirts. Did you buy a tall pointy hat, or almost get stabbed by an overacting waiter fencing in the Pepperpot restaurant? I didn’t, and did.- cw

Leave a Reply

