>Peter, Paul, and Vlad (and the Last of the Romanovs)

>St Petersburg, Russia

As I said before, the ship supplies a wonderful lecture series that coincide with the ports we are going to. They are later televised, which is great for working stiffs like myself who don’t have the time or ambition to attend in person. They are my soap opera – I hang on every word, and am even known to watch them whilst on the treadmill in the gym.

After watching a lecture about the fall of the Czar during 1917, I was very interested to see where their final remains lay, so I went to the Peter and Paul fortress to see the last of the Romanov’s

You can see the church where they lie from here – It’s the gold spire on the right.

During the 1917 revolution the Romanov’s were round up and shot, and their bones lay in a heap under guard day and night for 70 years. When communism was finally over, the Romanov’s remains were to be moved to church inside the Peter and Paul fortress, with the rest of the royal family.

But two sets of bones were missing. That of the young Hemophiliac prince, and one of the young Princesses.

Could it be that the jewels sewn inside their clothing saved them from the bullets and bayonets? Did Anastasia really survive?

Actually, they think it might have been one of the other princesses who survived, but no-one knows.

It is free to get into the Peter and Paul Fortress, and a small fee (around $5) to get into the church. The church houses a bunch of coffins where various royals lie.

There is a special room honouring the last of the Romanov’s

In the Peter and Paul fortress, I saw the exact same torture museum as in Tallinn, with the exact same graphics on the poster. Could it be a chain?

A popular place for photos is on the lap of Peter the Great.

I found a beautiful Blini stand

Probably the only one in the city with an English menu

Since I only know how to say “cheese please” I usually can’t get too inventive with my Blini fillings.

For the first time I saw people selling souvenirs from the trunks of cars.

I have noticed this statue of Lenin a couple of times, driving up Moskovski Prospect in a taxi. I noticed it was at a metro station, and a couple of years ago I finally found it. Alas, I had no camera that day. The statue and surrounding square were a lot more decrepit back then.

I had a vague recollection of where to go – I took the blue line and got off at the wrong stop again. Walking up Moskovski Prospect, I finally found the statue at the next stop – Moskovskaya.

(Up the street from this stop, across the street from the Hotel Pulkovskaya is a giant war monument that is quite moving, and a museum underneath it. It is worth seeing.)

I was amazed at the new waterworks in this square, how it had cleaned up so much, and how the youth were all hanging out on benches and playing hackey sack.

What’s that Vlad’s got in his hand, is that a hat? It looks just like the hat I’m wearing today, I thought.

The public transportation is always so busy, and private vans will go by with destinations printed on paper in the window. The traffic seems so chaotic to me.

I found a Kvas stand. It’s a malted Rye beverage.

Made from bread, it’s supposed to be healthy and refreshing, with a high vitamin B and suitable for children. I thought it was only lightly alcoholic, but found myself sleepy and drunk after a small glass.

Maybe that explains the Russians and their high alcohol tolerance. They get trained early on Kvass! I will have to keep practicing.

Time for another Blini pancake!

This entry was posted in Russia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >Peter, Paul, and Vlad (and the Last of the Romanovs)

  1. Goofball says:

    >Hi Stacey,about your question on my blog: I track the stats of my blog with http://www.statcounter.com. You have to add some code that you can copy in your blogger template and then it tracks for free the last 500 page hits on your blog. Well it does keep your total score all the time and the details of the last 500 page hits (IP address, search key words, URL they came from, network provider, time of visit, returning visit or not, …). For more you need to pay.It’s good enough for me, I don’t know if it is the best program though. I is based on cookies so if a computer doesn’t allow cookies, they still visit “invisibly” your website. I have some reading friends that never increase my blog stats. However I did see some Estonia hits today at the moment you left me your comment 😉 and have had hits from a crystal cruise network before???? I also see on a lot of blogs http://www.sitemeter.com and google would have stats as well. But I don’t know those programs.HOpe this helps

  2. >Hi Stacey, relatively new here to your blog. It’s funny, about kvas -when I was doing work in Far Eastern Russia they would only sell it to the women in our group and not the men. We never did figure out what that was about. (Maybe the men were supposed to drink something harder.)

  3. Ginnie says:

    >I very much remember the Peter and Paul Fortress but you’ve experienced more of the daily life than we were able to see, Stacey. Good to see it through your eyes!

Leave a Reply

