>The Hand-Over Note

>I left home in January, and since then have circumnavigated the globe- From Costa Rica to Los Angeles, from there to Hong Kong, from Japan and China to Thailand and Egypt, from Egypt to Italy and from there to Russia to England. And now I will fly west returning home for two months. Because in 7 months at sea I have not had a bath or a day off.

Since I left home I bought 3 suitcases worth of souvenirs and had my whole life turned upside down a couple of times over. The things that have happened to me probably could not fit on this page, and are mostly state secrets anyways. But my lesson is this: just when I thought it would take all my strength to do something, it became even harder. And then harder, and harder again. The lesson is this: We are always provided with enough strength to deal with whatever comes our way. I had no idea how much I had, but now I know I can do anything.

I leave the band in the capable hands of Eric, Becky’s man, and I leave him this handover note:
(pardon my penmanship..)

Each guy in the Filipino band goes by a different name than is on paper. And I think some of them change their nicknames each contract. Eric, being the nice man that he is, is concerned about knowing the right names.
Best of luck, Eric! And please don’t forget to water Woody my bamboo and Shrinking Violet.

I will be back at sea in October. But please stay with me, as I have a couple more ports of call to show you, and lots of things to share with you. And heaps more internet time to get to know all of you better!

Stacey

This entry was posted in Ship Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to >The Hand-Over Note

  1. tut-tut says:

    >I’m waiting to hear more . . .

  2. grace says:

    >At last you’ll be going home. Off you go and have loong bath times and pamper yourself. :-)I hope you enjoy your well deserved vacation!

  3. Anonymous says:

    >Hello Stacey,it was a great time and pleasure to travel with you the last month. We looked every day the world-news and we enjoied it really to watch nearly the entier world through your eyes.Have a good journey at home and don´t forget your blogg. Your stories from Vancouver Island surely are interesting to the www as well.We are impressed about your blogg and stories so we can not miss them to long!Have happy and greatful holidays!With cordelly regards, also to your parents, siblings and familyPeter and the rest from Forstinning(by the way: Vanessa is currently in North Carolina on holidays)

  4. >Ah…. a couple of months at home to enjoy friends and family, and a long soaky bath whenever you fancy one! It sounds like the perfect arrangement.I hope you are going to keep blogging, you write such interesting details. So Eric will be in charge of the band while you are gone, I think this will be a promotion for him? Good luck to him.meanwhile I shall keep checking in to see what sort of trouble you can get yourself into while on dry land.

  5. Jul says:

    >I love living the cruise ship life vicariously through you. Enjoy your well-deserved time off!

  6. >Stacey ~ oh yes! I can relate. But please, please keep sharing even when you step off that cruise ship. Because we will be here. Enjoy that bath!

  7. Brissiemum2 says:

    >I have just discovered your blog so am a little sad to hear that I won’t be able to catch up with your travels for a while. Nevertheless, I hope you have a fantastic break and look forward to hearing more from you!

  8. Chris Clake says:

    >Hi Stacy, I was wondering if you could send me an email – I wanted to get in touch with you about a photo contest for Travelocity. If you’re interested, drop me a line.Thanks!

  9. >Hey stacey! I just wanted to say have a wicked vacation lady! Baths-a-plenty to you!

  10. Ginnie says:

    >And to think that while I was preparing to fly over to Amsterdam, I missed that you were flying back home. I think we were passing planes in the night! I LOVE that you have time for R&R, after 7 months “on the road,” so to speak. And that you have a capable person to hand the wand to. But I sure bet they’ll all miss you!!

Leave a Reply

