>A week of sanity

>It’s happening in a week – Just like returning to school, I have to get my story straight, because people will be asking “what did you do on your vacation?”

Let me practice… ahem…

“Oh, nothing really. Joined Greenpeace, did some kickboxing, I tried to stay with the monks for a week but they were full.. Did the usual camping and fishing and hung out with family and friends. I ate everything I could and used all those nice forbidden words, such as ‘Sure, No Problem,’ and ‘Hi, how ya doin‘, and ‘Hey guys’

But I will tell you my big secret. I really don’t secretly yearn for the ocean wave. I would like to stay right here, thankyouverymuch, and forget all about that business. But I will not go wishing my job away just yet. I need to make enough money to get started in this world, and have you SEEN the cheapest house in Victoria? ($370 000)

Victoria is a land of opportunity since I left the last time. There are jobs everywhere – good, steady jobs everywhere. Every window I pass is hiring, and every government service is as well.

I wonder, am I missing my chance?

“Your chance to be an office shrew or work at Subway?” says my friend, “you have a great job and opportunities doing what you love right now.”

But at what sacrifice?

The Canadian dollar is equal to the US dollar now. I could complain about that, being paid in green money. I am secretly thrilled about it. Take that, George! I think…

I guess I have to start blogging again, there is so much to catch up on now. See ya soon!

This entry was posted in Ship Life, Victoria BC. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >A week of sanity

  1. grace says:

    >What? so many job opportunities in Victoria? Can I go there and apply? hee hee. I am getting tired of living in the big dusty city that is Dubai! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Debbie says:

    >hey blondie.aww… i secretly yearn for the ocean wave. i even yearn for my job. I do not, however, yearn for the politics and drama that goes with the stuff in the office. love ya, miss ya. Debs

  3. >Well, all good things come to an end (what a pessimistic thought) but as long as you have enjoyed your time away from shipboard life, then all is AOK. And we’ll all enjoy reading about more around the world adventures! And after so much travelling, would you really really like to be anchored in one place and seeing the same boring people at work day after day…. think about it!!!

  4. >Isnยดt BC stupidly expensive? It is incredibly stupidly expensive here in Argentina, the depressing thing is the houses are priced in USD, but the people earn pesos!

  5. >I can sympathize on those expensive houses. I actually moved to Spokane from Seattle, because I could actually afford a home over here. ๐Ÿ˜› Seattle is just as insanely expensive these days. It seems that all the coastal cities are that way.But anyway, I don’t think you’re giving up anything. You’re doing a lot more than most people do in their whole lives. And home ownership isn’t the only way to invest in your future.

  6. SabineM says:

    >It has been a while since I have visited your sight. Last I Saw you were still on board!Wow, it must be soo different to be on land for a while. At least until October. I was almost sad to see that you were not on board, but glad to hear that you will be returning! (at least glad for selfish reasons!!)I was on Victoria twice in my lifetime. Lovely place! I think I am with your friend. You are doing what you love (at least from what I read)….I would trade places, but with two kids (oh and a husband *smile) hard to take off like that. ENJOY it while you can, then settle down. The opportunities will always be there. Best of luck to you. And don’t stop blogging!

  7. Ginnie says:

    >You’ll know when it’s the right time to settle down, Stacey. And you’re still so young. ๐Ÿ™‚ But whenever we’re restless, they say change is a-coming!

  8. >take that George! yep, I agree. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. >You are still totally Young Stacy and I think it’s great you have visited so many places in this world for such a cheap price overall. I’m sure you will never regret what you have done in your twenties. You have seen so much and you have so much more to see…You’ll know when you are ready when you absolutely long to stop and do something new…But if I could, I’d be doing what you do. The photos, the travel, and never hating your job..It is nice here but I’d take travel over a desk any time in my life!I’m only wishing my life in Switzerland back, but I need to find another way or just move to victoria. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

