>The Mess

>Whenever I come home I can’t find anything amongst my boxes of souvenirs, clothes, hopeful home essentials and my million keyboards (and the lone accordion… I am always tempted to bring that accordion on the ship with me. Hmmmm…)

Finding a pair of shoes last Friday to go salsa dancing with Ariel made me take the whole room apart. I usually wear the first thing I can find, which means the same thing all the time, thank goodness this is not the Fashion Capital of the world. It’s nice to slum it for a change, not to be always in formal wear, and makeup. Every nook and cranny of my room is crammed with things, and then there are the boxes…

“I’ve been thinking of us getting a storage locker,” my Mum said. Hmmm, maybe that was a hint. I still hold on to hope that I won’t need storage for that much longer. I never wanted to be 30 and still on cruise ships. But since they gave me the promotion… I just need the experience, right?

I decided to put my sound system together, set it up for singing, I need to get off my arse and make a demo CD, so one day, I can leave the ship and get my own gigs.

First I had to find it, the biggest challenge. Then the wires, and the mike. Thank goodness I have a freakishly good memory. I stumbled across the long lost legs for my Wurlitzer in the back of the cupboard. Right underneath some mildewing dresses I vaguely remember owning.

It’s the Wurlie! I should haul out all my vintage keyboards and play them, to get the moths out and make sure they are still running..

Finally, the set-up is done, the piano was tuned and I can practice.

Do you dare me to record myself singing and playing and post it on this blog for all to hear? Go on, dare me 🙂

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >The Mess

  1. grace says:

    >I will not dare you but I would love to hear you sing and play! 🙂

  2. >Well, once thrown a challenge like that I have to accept, yes, I dare you! In fact, how about I DOUBLE DARE YOU! You have lots of interesting stuff in your room, I wonder what’s in all those boxes. And keyboards, and Wurlitzer legs and an accordion and all the speakers, wires and other paraphernalia that goes with making music.

  3. Ginnie says:

    >I DARE YOU, Stacey!!! PLEASE. Just do it!!! 🙂

  4. tatiana says:

    >I double dog dare you!

  5. Ariel says:

    >triple dare! (is that possible?)

Leave a Reply

