>Route 66

>This cruise marked a day I have been waiting for for (almost) 5 years.

Yes, it was the end of wearing this:

The 50’s show is now gone!!!!! V-A-C-A-tion… I celebrated by prank calling the entire cast of singers and dancers with the original sound clip of “It’s Pony Time! … Get Up!”

I always said that the last time I played that show I would have a big party. The low point of wearing that shirt was when a fellow crewmember mistook me to be the ship’s clown.

I took that shirt out for one last night on the town. Yes, I proudly wore it to the crew bar for one last drink. Sniff…..

I will not miss that show. The new show was loaded onboard in LA.

Look, it’s a new trumpet guy! Weird that he kind of looks like the last guy..

“Wow, looks like Carnival!” I comment to the guy from head office. He bristles. A Russian Dancer walks past. “Reminds me of Carnival! I think it was the exact same car…” I agree with him. Guy from head office storms off in disgust…

Ok Dad, what kind of car is this?

This is a little scary…

The show is new and upbeat and features a lot of blues and Motown and:

WTF?

I timidly ask the choreographer if there will be any ridiculous outfit for the band to wear. She says yes, and a couple of costume changes as well.

This does not sound good…

Trumpet guy meets his new Roomie, Duncan.

You can’t see it here, but they are wearing the exact same pants as well. And not just ordinary black pants or jeans.. They are wearing beige.

Again, with the shirts, they hit the ice cream bar!

Some friends of mine have recently been awarded a 5 year gift in a ceremony. Now this is 5 years of sea time. So most have been working towards this for about 8 years.

“Come to the Crew Office,” the note said, “to select your 5 year gift!”

The choices?

A Ballpoint Pen, a Bookmark, a Picture Frame, or, a Key Chain.

What would you choose?

This entry was posted in Ship Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >Route 66

  1. Robyn says:

    >Aww…I think you looked cute in that outfit! p.s. choose the keychain!!

  2. Goofball says:

    >good luck with the new show!!I’d go for the picture frame. Pff what a lousy choice huh?

  3. Anonymous says:

    >Key chain, definitely..

  4. >I’d go for the key chain, cos the ballpoint pen would run out of ink, the bookmark would probably get lost in a book and end up back at the library, and the piccy frame may not fit any of your piccys.Plus they’re probably all made in China, everything else is!

  5. Anonymous says:

    >it is a 1960 corvette convertablemy dream car.Dadps: go for the key chain then buy me the vette when you get rich and famous.

  6. Ginnie says:

    >HAHAHA. I love Dad’s comment. Congratulations on getting through one show and advancing to the next. I know that’s gotta feel…good! 🙂

  7. >Five years on the high seas and this is what they give away as a reward?I would kick the door or something. 😉

Leave a Reply

