>Baguio, day 3

>And the Jeepney of the day is:

The first thing I noticed was the horse on the hood. The second thing I noticed was how the horse was actually padlocked there.

It will turn out to be a horsey day, whether I like it or not.

It looks like I’m going to open a whole can of Aloha right now…

Here are the botanical gardens. An easy walk from the place we are staying, we had full intentions of seeing it that morning.

Look I even got my photo taken with people posing as Ifugao natives at the entrance. I asked Sherwin for some coins to give them. He gave me a handful of coins, which I guess he intended me to pick through to give them a few Pisos. Unfortunatley I didn’t make that mental leap and unloaded the whole handful of heavy coins into their hands. I think they took the rest of the day off.

Inside the gardens we are greeted by some bizarre souvenirs.

Then we see the horses. They offer us an hour long horse ride. Sounds good. We get on the horses, expecting to ride around the gardens. Not so fast. They lead us to the busy road and we ride up the side of the road for an hour, gasping on diesel jeepney fumes the whole way.

We did see this attraction, “The Mansion.”

I have no idea what it is. But it clearly says it right there.

Look at the Alpine lodges here!

We found, by accident, a restaurant recommended by my guide book called “The Woods.” It just happened to be right there when we were starving.

I guess this is to make a sauce out of, with soya sauce.

Peanut sauce shrimps

And across the road, this was Marcos’s house. Doesn’t look like anyone dares touch it now.

And here is Baguio’s oldest pine tree. How do they know?

The horses took us up to a viewpoint.

We got off and saw the outdoor market, and the amazing panorama.

What is with the souvenirs here?

Inside this and the smaller red containers was some kind of sweet rice and jam combination.

The bees were going nuts for this honey.

Unfortunatley this is when the camera crapped out and so I can’t show you the amazing panorama.

This entry was posted in Asia, Baguio, Philippines. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Baguio, day 3

  1. >I haven’t seen those weird souvenirs when I was there 12 years ago. Must be a new thing. In Japan, you can find statues of THAT souvenir – it is said to promote fertility.With that note, Baguio is known as the honeymoon capital of the Philippines so the symbolic use of it? I don’t know how I’m going to end this sentence! LOL!

  2. Ginnie says:

    >I can’t believe I’m seeing pictures from/of BAGUIO, Stacey! Believe it or not, I was there many years ago when I visited a missionary friend of mine there in the Philippines. She worked on putting the Balangao language into writing and I flew by helicopter with her into the mountain area from Baguio. WOW! Happy memories.

Leave a Reply

