>One Day in Buenos Aires Pt 2

>I continued on in my favourite city to see the old part of town – San Telmo. It has cobblestone streets, old buildings, tango, and antiques.

Bar Sur has tango at night. I hear it’s touristy, but I really enjoyed the music when I was there last time.

The antiques market is my favourite. I knew there was no way to escape alive without buying something.

I fell in love with these pieces of antique glass, meant to be hung from a chandelier. They filled me with artistic inspiration as I bought this entire bowl full at a dollar each. The colours were wonderful.

I took them back to the ship and decided to give some a bath. I felt really stupid as I watched the paint melt right off them. They were just clear painted glass.

Was I ripped off or is painted glass an antique thing?

My bag heavy with glass, I took the subway to Florida street to do some sweater shopping.

A lady sells Mate cups

This is the famous Casa Rosada. I hear that after Madonna completed the scene where she sang “don’t cry for me Argentina,” she cried because she thought she had done such a good job.

Florida Street is a walking street, and is is usually so crowded. I found some nice deals on sweaters and shirts, although has anyone noticed, some of those little shops have exactly the same clothes in each one!

This entry was posted in Argentina. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >One Day in Buenos Aires Pt 2

  1. >The street photos in this post are so nice! They’re even beautiful enough to be framed.

  2. >Dear Stacey. The weather looks SO FANTASTIC – i’m jealous! The old town looks beautiful. Big change from Antarctica!

  3. >Yes sadly, all the clothes are the same. Great photos!

Leave a Reply

