>Rio Sail – in and Dinner

>

I traded my Rio day for Buenos Aires. I have lots of time for Argentina – and not as much patience for Brazil, although the music and culture are amazing.

We sailed in about half a day late, luckily for me, because that means I didn’t have to wake up at 6am to see the most beautiful sail- in’s in the world.

We talk about the most beautiful sail-in ports we have ever seen. People in the industry have it narrowed down to a few.

-Rio

-Sidney, Australia

-Acapulco (have never really noticed that one myself)

-Hong Kong – to see the futuristic buildings and the technicolor lights of the city, although you can also see this when docked!

-Vancouver (I had to add this one myself it is really spectacular)

others:

-New York – we used to get up at 4 in the morning to see the Statue of Liberty as we pass by!

-San Francisco – to sail under the Golden Gate bridge and past Alcatraz!

Well here is Rio. You can see Sugarloaf Mountain prominently on the skyline.

There it is! You can see Corcovado in the distance behind it, where the giant Jesus resides.

The Giant Jesus is on the oddly-shaped Corcovado on the right of the photo. I took a tour to it once before, it really is massive. Urban legend goes that once every Carioca (habitant of Rio) gets an honest job, the statue will clap its hands.

As was proven by the crew on this overnight, this will never happen.

I was also lucky enough to get to go out at night, and I looked on the internet for a nice place to eat.

Here we are worrying about our fashion. Right, it’s Brazil. Nobody cares.

We go into the old part of town, Santa Teresa, which I had never seen before. It reminded me of Lisbon, except without all the tiles.

Unfortunatley the place wasn’t all I expected, and was full of tourists. You know, the travelling backpacking type, complete with beads and flowing skirts and ideals. You wouldn’t really think it possible that there would be any other kind, but I always feel alienated from these travelers.

I have a Mate tea, which is surprisingly, just tea.

A salad complete with palm hearts

Some kind of crab appetizer

The main course is a fish cooked in coconut milk, with brocolli and brazil nut rice and banannas and potatoes circling the fish.

Hmmm… Mulata Beer – a perfect mixture! How Brazilian.

Feeling fashionable amongst the hippies…

We wander the streets of Santa Teresa.

There must be nice old homes beyond these walls. The streets are almost like tunnels with these high walls.

This entry was posted in Brazil. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Rio Sail – in and Dinner

  1. Meg says:

    >San Francisco is gorgeous–sailing in is incredible. It’s one of my favorite cities.Rio looks like a stunning place!

  2. Shammickite says:

    >The crab appetizer looks yummy.I heard today that it’s been really really hot in Argentina and the pastures are all drying up…. no water for the cattle, the cattle are dying in the fields.

Leave a Reply

