>The Virgin Gorda

>This is one of my favourite places to go in the Caribbean. I don’t go to beaches very much unless I know the water is very very blue. We took a small ferry from the island of Tortola to the neighboring island Vigrin Gorda.

Here are Tim and Vanessa at the ferry terminal, ready for an adventure. The rest of the band didn’t wake up in time.

The name of the ferry was “Unforgettable”

Tim shares some local coconut cake

We arrive at the ferry dock of Virgin Gorda. Look how blue this water is. I want to jump right in.

The price of roundtrip ferry, taxi to the baths, and entrance to the national park was a total of $41. I brought all my own sandwiches and fruit and drinks.

This is the top of the Baths at Virgin Gorda. We hike down to the beach.

The Baths have unique giant boulder formations, as we start to see on the path.

Here is the first beach. If you hike through the caves there is another beach on the other side.

To take the Devil’s bay trail, first you have to squeeze through this rock.

One of the first things you see is this blue grotto.

The trail is a real adventure. We climb up this steep rock. The rope on the side is really helpful to climb down.

The rest of the trail we are squeezing through the rocks and trying to find the way, as the path isn’t marked. It is such an adventure.



Through this rock is the way to the beach. At this point the others got lost behind me and I went back to look for them.




We went back to the first beach after a good 45 minutes of climing around.

I went back to swim in the first grotto and explore the others after it.





This purple rock looked like a dragon.

There it is.

This entry was posted in Caribbean. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >The Virgin Gorda

  1. >wow stacey, talk about visiting a paradise! I just love the colors. I think I’m long overdue for a vacation like that…

  2. Anonymous says:

    >I’m so glad to have happened onto your blog – heard that virgin gorda was a great caribbean place to visit. Interested in learning more about the caribbean spots. Thanks! Menehune

  3. Goofball says:

    >that looks like such a fun spot

  4. charlie says:

    >I loved this post! Actually I was very rude. I slurped it all up and went away without saying thank you…I just came back to let you know that I do follow all of your travels. But you know that don’t you? I’m just a crappy commenter!

  5. TorAa says:

    >This is a real wonder of nature.And with your pictures it all feels so real.I think it must have been really fantastic to walk along all those huge stones.btw. I have put you up on my blogroll

Leave a Reply

