>Grand Men Seng Hotel – Davao

>On this day, Sherwin had to go to Manila to sign his contract and left me at the BS inn (“no firearms” – see the last post!) I was hoping his trip by plane to Manila would be over soon – but meanwhile I had to survive the heat of Davao – and the room at the BS inn looked like it would have been a good spot to perfect my rhythmic gymnastics routine. Or act out scenes from “The Shining”

Davao is a couple hours from where we were staying and the location of the airport.

So I checked myself into the relative luxury of the Grand Men Seng hotel. There are more expensive hotels in Davao, some real luxury ones, ranging from about $120 ++ per night. This hotel is unbeatable mid-range value for $50.

(By comparison, the BS inn was around $13 per night, for clean, giant rooms with cable tv and basic bathrooms)

I was a little embarrassed to tell his family I was staying here, (I didn’t want to seem too fancy) so I tried not to tell them.

I planned to swim in the pool all day and take advantage of their buffet.

When Sherwin called to say he had signed his contract I told him where I was. He couldn’t believe it! He took the next plane back to join me there and we had “Ihaw-Ihaw” (barbecue) around the pool.

More Kinilaw (Fiilipno Sushi) and he has Sizzling Sisig – which I thought was just sizzling pork bits topped with a fried egg. Turns out it is actually sizzling pork face bits. That’s good, because you can even buy it canned.

This entry was posted in Asia, Davao, Philippines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

