Last One Standing

I got a chance to go to downtown Hiroshima this year, and even though I was sick I was quite determined to see some stuff.

I couldn’t resist looking for some geocaches on the way, though. The shuttle bus dropped me off and I took a walk through this park

There was supposed to be a geocache at this train, but I didn’t find it. It was neat to see the old train, though.

Nearby was a baseball stadium, and a monument to one of Japan’s baseball heroes. There was supposed to be a geocache here as well, but I didn’t find it.

Across the street was the last building standing from the Atomic bomb blast. Everything else was flattened.

There were monuments nearby

Beautiful paper cranes, had I felt better I would have made some to leave there. I learned how to make these in school and never forgot.

Across this bridge is the Peace Park.

It’s Hanami season, the beautiful time of year to picnic under the cherry blossoms.

This is the children’s peace monument. This was a geocache as well, but not in the sense to find something here, but to find the location of this monument and pay your respects.

The bell was in the shape of a paper crane. People had left paper cranes in the windows all around.

There was a museum nearby, detailing the atrocities of the bomb – my friends told me not to go, that it was horrific and heart wrenching. After having lost it in a similar Vietnam War museum in Saigon, I decided to skip that part of it.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Asia, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last One Standing

  1. Goofball says:

    >wow it looks like a very interesting place to visit….very beautiful and yet so solemn and heartbreaking?

  2. >Wow Stacey – this is so beautiful. Victoria is experiencing the same times of the season right now and looks so much like your photos with the cherry blossoms. Great to know you got to go to see it all this time!

  3. Anonymous says:

    >Hi; I am enjoying your blog since one year ago; its fantastic and fun; I explore the world zith u; May I ask a q: r u a ship crew something; or you r just tourist?good lucksara

  4. >You didn’t go to the museum? I say it’s worth going.Anyway, the photos remind me of my trip to Hiroshima 9 years ago!

Leave a Reply

