Caves of Elephanta

In Bombay, I have always wanted to take the 1 hr ferry trip to the Elephanta Caves. On this day we were lucky to have enough time to go there.

From the Gateway to India we took a little ferry to the island, one of the ones below.

I was surprised to see they were cooking on the boat, in that little cupboard in the back.

As we sailed through the harbour, it became clear that a lot of people were only onboard to hop onto a different boat. We spent 15 minutes it seemed ferrying people to their different destinations in the harbour.

An hour later, we arrived on the island.

Ladies were selling corn and cucumber. I bought a nice cool cucumber for my breakfast.

If you are feeling lazy you can be carried up the staircase in one of these chairs.

A monkey nearly attacked me and made threatening gestures for my cucumber, which I promptly dropped on the ground in fright. I didn’t know monkeys liked cucumbers.

Here are the different caves, however there is one main cave with the religious sculptures.

These were declared a UNESCO world heritage site in the 80’s.

The entire cave was hewn out of the rock.

If you notice, each column has an elephant (Ganesh) on it.

This temple is dedicated to the god Shiva. It is very hard to get pictures of the wonderful sculpture inside.

There were some little rooms inside the caves that seemed to be shrines, and were adorned with fresh flowers.

The monkeys literally ran wild outside.

Gallery | This entry was posted in India. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Caves of Elephanta

  1. Betsy says:

    >The mention of your cucumber made me shudder– do you ever get sick on these trips? I used to be more adventurous, but then after getting so sick in Egypt I've become so paranoid about eating uncooked foods, meats, food from roadside stands, etc. Which is a shame, because I really believe one should try the local cuisine! You seem to eat all this stuff and be fine, though! What's your secret?

  2. R. Duckie says:

    >Hi Betsy -I get sick too.. I had 2 horrible cases of food poisoning in Philippines, one in Mexico and ultimately a nice case of parasites in March. I tried to wipe all the water off that cucumber before eating!

  3. Betsy says:

    >Maybe it's like Russian Roulette– you never know when it's going to get you. I ate all kinds of dubious food in Central Asia and we spent a week-long safari in Tanzania eating chicken that had been kept in a cooler full of tepid water. And somehow we managed to dodge the bullet on those and several other occasions.I guess that with as much as you travel that food poisoning / parasites are probably an occupational hazard! :-)Anyway, I hope that your luck continues to hold, because I really enjoy your posts, especially the food related ones!

  4. Betsy says:

    >Hmm. I hit send just as I realized that that last paragraph wasn't exactly what I wanted to say. What I really meant was: Sorry to hear you were so sick in the Philippines, but it sounds like in general you've been OK. (Maybe you've also built up your immune system since you've been doing this for several years?)Anyway, I'm glad to hear you are able to dodge the bullet on most occasions, because I always enjoy your food related posts.There. Whew. Got it more or less right this time.

  5. Goofball says:

    >oooh that excursion was one of the highlights of our visit in Bombay. Busy as the caves can be, it still felt a lot more quiet and cooler than the busy city.oh yes and the monkeys are a plague. Lots of people were picnicking there and lots of people got attacked and had their food stolen by the monkeys. I even saw a monkey opening a can and drinking from it!!!!those shrines with a round fallus stone is the primal symbal for a goddess…in hinduism it represents Shiva. We've seen such rock cut shrines with fallus stone with offers in Bali as well.

  6. R. Duckie says:

    >Goofball – thanks for all of your insight! I really wanted to know what those small caves were! We go to so many places and sometimes I don't do my homework.Betsy – don't worry I'm not very sensitive, the thought of my luck continuing to hold made me giggle… I think you can get G.I. from anywhere – and possibly the biggest danger is the food from the crew mess onboard this ship!! There's a lot of stuff ashore that I won't touch, though!

Leave a Reply

