A Monastery and the Cliff of Sacrifice

As if the walk/run through Petra wasn’t hot enough, when we neared the Monastery there was an uphill marathon of stairs. Some of us wilted on the stairs, turning back and waving the others to go ahead without them. Not me, although I could have easily done so.

What a parking spot! Is it true that nomads still live in Petra?

The stairs go up, and up…

And finally, the Monastery – equal to the treasury in its grandeur.

As we walk away it seems to disappear into the cliff face. There is one last thing to see.

The Cliff of Sacrifice. It made me a little nervous!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Jordan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Monastery and the Cliff of Sacrifice

  1. Ginnie says:

    >What incredible images for such an incredible place, Stacey. Petra is one place I would love to visit some day!

  2. >I ditto that! beautiful.

  3. Beverly says:

    >Did they film an 'indiana jones' movie there?

  4. Shammickite says:

    >I think I have just decided that I ABSOLUTELY MUST visit Petra before the Grim Reaper comes to take me away!

Leave a Reply

