Piraeus, Greece and the end of Asia

The biggest excitement of Pireaus was that it marked the fact that we were finally leaving the Asia season for a small stop in the Mediterranean before our long Scandinavian summer. Were we ever weary! We were resolute not to spent a penny in Europe as it was so expensive. Even though we had no qualms spending on all that seafood in Asia.

I didn’t go into Athens, see the Acropolis, or anything. Me and Sherwin had some time for Greek food at my favourite Pizza place (we must have forgotten the camera!) and later I just took a short walk from the ship as I was busy working most of the day.

I did see an interesting display case belonging to a seafood restaurant!

And I believe I saw a big Greek wedding.

This bonsai in a nearby store was lovely. It looked a little like a Baobab tree.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Greece. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Piraeus, Greece and the end of Asia

  1. Shammickite says:

    >When I went to Athens a few years ago, the local historical board employees were on strike, so couldn't get into the Acropolis, Parthenon etc etc, everything closed.

  2. Ginnie says:

    >One day I hope to make it to Athens, Stacey. (If I were still with Donica, I would have been there this past April on a cruise.)

  3. >I just found your blog…how cool. And lucky you for seeing a Greek wedding. I've always wanted to see one!

  4. >Greece is definitely one of the must-see places on my list. The place is just filled with so much history. Just the feeling of being there would definitely be awesome. 😀

  5. Nisha says:

    >Your blog is very interesting to read…You were really very lucky as you could see the Greek wedding in Athens

Leave a Reply

